See Things Differently With SHA

Becca BeckIn the beginning of the movie Back to the Future, Marty McFly struggles to get his band off the ground and find direction in his life. Before I attended SHA in 2011, I felt like Marty—spinning my wheels, not really sure where to go next, etc. Luckily for those of us in the history field, we have a Doc Brown to turn to: SHA. Granted, it’s not a time machine made out of a Delorian, but still just as effective.

Now in your mind, jump to the end of Back to the Future when Marty experiences the new 1985. His parents and family are better off than they were before and Marty’s got a brand new truck in the garage. Completing SHA is a lot like Marty re-entering reality. You see things differently. New opportunities become available (although I did not get a new truck out of it but you see what I mean). The world looks and feels bigger, if only because your eyes are open with a fresh perspective.

One year after SHA, I was promoted to Assistant Director of Education and Community Engagement at the Indiana Historical Society. I worked hard in the year following SHA to lead from the middle, volunteer to assist with more projects and become a more active member of the education field. This, coupled with my new perspective and knowledge from SHA, led me to where I am today.

I learned a lot about myself during those three weeks. I gained lifelong friendships, created a national network of history colleagues and allowed myself to take time for me. There is always a reason not to do something. Push those to the back of your mind and apply for SHA today.

Becca Beck (SHA ’11), Assistant Director of Education and Community Engagement at the Indiana Historical Society

Posted on April 29, 2013, in Application and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on See Things Differently With SHA.

Comments are closed.